The British Society of Gastroenterology is a registered charity focused on the promotion of gastroenterology within the United Kingdom. It has over three thousand members drawn from the ranks of physicians, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, scientists, nurses, dieticians, physiologists and others interested in the field. Founded in 1937, it has grown from a club to be a major force in British medicine, with representation within the British Royal Colleges and consequently the Department of Health and Government. Internationally it is represented at World and European level.

The BSG runs an annual scientific meeting at which hundreds of original papers are presented to audiences of over 2000 professionals. It is intimately involved in all aspects of gastroenterology training in Britain. Research is supported indirectly through promotion of high standards and offering platforms for scientific presentation and publication, and directly through substantial financial contributions to the Society's affiliated charity, Core (formerly the Dige stive Disorders Foundation).

The BSG co-owns three journals. Gut is Europe's highest ranked gastroenterology journal, by citation-related impact factor, and the Society’s oldest title. Frontline Gastroenterology focuses on clinical aspects of Gastroenterology. The newest addition to the portfolio is the open access journal BMJ Publishing Open Gastroenterology. The Society regularly produces guidelines on aspects of contemporary practice.

While the Society exists for the promotion of the discipline, it is not itself able to provide medical advice or to recommend individual practitioners. Prospective patients are advised to consult their own medical advisers with a view to referral to a member of the Society.

For more information or membership enquiries, please contact:

British Society of Gastroenterology
3 St Andrews Place
Regents Park

t: +44 (0)20 7935 3150

Details of membership can be found here.

Jayne Eaden

Dr Jayne Eaden
BSG Senior Secretary and Chair of the Programme Committee

Nick Thompson

Dr Nick Thompson
BSG Secretary

Julie Solomon

Ms Julie Solomon
BSG Head of Research and Learning

Organising Committee

BSG President: Professor Martin Lombard

BSG President-Elect: Dr Cathryn Edwards

BSG Senior Secretary: Dr Jayne Eaden

BSG Secretary: Dr Nick Thompson

BSG Head of Research and Learning: Ms Julie Solomon

BSG Treasurer: Dr Duncan Loft

BSG Chief Executive: Mr Richard Gardner

Registration is Now Open!

Register now to secure your place!